The first ‘recipe’ I might actually memorize

And by recipe, I really mean that they’re more like … guidelines than actual rules.

This is what makes me think I can actually eventually learn to bake by ratio and weight, rather than volume measurements. Not that baking has anything to do with this dinner. It just that baking is the other place in cooking where a skeleton structure of a recipe makes sense to me.

Also a one pot + strainer recipe, who doesn’t love fewer dishes to clean? Plus, can be seasonal (and thus cheaper) by only using the ‘greens’ in season – makes me happy. Can be kosher and/or vegetarian (depending on the sausage you get). Not gluten-free though. Unless there’s a gluten-free pasta out there that tastes okay? I know not. But yeah, this one should be very versatile.

Definitely going into the binder.

Pasta with Sausage and Greens

Original from TheKitchn.com (yes, most of my recipes come through there – what can I say, it’s my cooking portal)
Serves 4-6
Recipes left to try (& copy…): 27; Dinners: 7 recipes left

  • 1 lb your favorite variety of pasta
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 lb of your favorite variety of sausage, crumbled
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced OR garlic cloves to taste 🙂
  • As many handfuls of seasonal greens as you want/fit in your pot
    • I have used mustard greens in this recipe
    • Also suggest spinach, baby spinach, arugula, kale
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  1. Cook the pasta according to package directions; drain and leave in the colander.
  2. Heat some olive oil in the pasta pot. Add the sausage and garlic; cook over medium heat until sausage is cooked through.
  3. Add the greens on top of the sausage and cook until they begin to wilt. Add the drained pasta and Parmesan cheese to the pot and stir until everything is combined and the cheese is gooey, about 2 minutes.
  4. Serve with extra Parmesan, to taste.

That’s it! So simple.

2 thoughts on “The first ‘recipe’ I might actually memorize

  1. I love this! It’s a variation on a standard meal we make… only we do it gluten free/low carb by just omitting the pasta. I usually do sausage, kale, other random veggies, and I usually supplement the flavor with some sofrito, recaito, or a bit of curry paste (and some extra olive/coconut oil). Delicious and awesomely healthy and no “recipes” to speak of!

Leave a Reply

