Attempting a piece of nostalgia

So charoset is one of those things I remember from my childhood Passovers events – I remember rather liking it.

Now I thinking that was for the contrast, any contrast, to matzah. If you’ve never had matzah, think of the driest, worst cracker you’ve ever eaten. Matzah is worse. Unless you soak it in egg wash with cinnamon and fry it up into matzah brie.

Either way, I am not a fan of matzah, thus had none in the house to smear charoset onto. And apparently charoset, at least when ground smooth, is cake frosting – according to Adam anyway. So now we have almost 4 cups of the stuff left and I have no desire to eat more. I’d say next time I’ll leave some nuts and apples in chunk size. But I’ve got no real desire to try this one again.

Ah well, maybe one of y’all will enjoy it more

Medjool Date and Apple Charoset

Original from TheKitchn.com
Makes 4 cups
Recipes left to try (& copy…): 32; Snacks: 2 recipes left

  • 1 cup pecans
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 2 large Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and chunked
  • 1/3 cup apple-cranberry juice
  • 1 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  1. Pulse the pecans and walnuts in a food processor until coarsely ground
  2. Add the apples and pulse a few more times. Add the juice, honey, and cinnamon; blend until as smooth as you like.
Leave a Reply

