Final elimination

It’s still technically Tuesday… yeah, sometimes I can be a doof. So, let’s finish this thing and get  a page together.

Vegetables

  • Curry Roasted Broccoli – I’m gonna try this one this week – I like broccoli a lot.
  • Grown up Tater-Tots – We really don’t need more potato recipes… But these look very good. And simple. Will be trying.
  • Asparagus with Eggs & Parmesan  – Adam doesn’t like hard-boiled eggs… so, skipping.
  • Asparagus Ribbons – So… I tried this (tonight actually) and WTF, who has time to create strips of asparagus with a vegetable peeler? Especially of a 1/2 lb of asparagus. Got frustrated and changed to cutting the asparagus into 4ths. Got more frustrated and changed to chopping into chunks. And wouldn’t you know it? The ribbons tasted the best. Adam’s volunteered to sou chef so, I’m willing to try it once more. We’ll see.
    Asparagus Ribbons
  • Asparagus & Radishes with Mint – Radishes aren’t something we’ve had a lot of in the past, and I’m all for adding variety in our veggies. Plus, we both like asparagus. So, yes, trying this one.
  • Marinated Eggplant – Excuse me, I’m supposed to marinate this thing for 6 hours after cooking? When is the expectation to eat it? In the morning with breakfast? That’s more than 6 hours, marinating overnight. With dinner? 1) I don’t cook in the morning – it’s enough work getting out the door on time as is and 2) work is more than 6 hours! Skip.
  • Zucchini & Carrot Fritters – Nope. I want more vegetable recipes, not carbs and these are primarily pancakes. Look good though.

Dinners

We’ve got a lot of dinner recipes already… Looking for 1) cheap (Adam is starting grad. school in September) and 2) less meat – meat is expensive, not great for the environment, and I”VE GOT LOTS. ::sighs:: Which doesn’t mean I won’t be eliminating all the non-vegetarian recipes… this is how I end up binders of meat centric dinner recipes…

  • Crockpot Paella – has paprika. paprika == migraine. Nope.
  • Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Chili – 1) paprika. 2) stealing Adam’s schtick. Nope.
  • Anelletti Pasta with Sausage and Greens – 1) pasta (yay!) 2) One-ish pot (yay!) 3) Greens! So, yep.
  • Homemade gnocchi – I’ll start trying to make my own pasta when a) I’ve got some of those pasta roller attachments for the kitchen aid, thank you very much (yes, I know I don’t need one for gnocchi) and b) after I’ve gotten a handle on canning. Or brewing (cider at least). What? I can be arbitrary if I wanna 🙂
  • Farro and Sausage-Stuffed Baked Apples – Adam made the ‘oh wow that sounds good’ face (i’ve got a whole picture dictionary of his faces 😀 ), so YEP
  • Shepherd’s Pie – Sorry, not a fan of making mashed potatoes as part of a recipe. Arbitrary, but definitely makes a recipe feel like too much work. Cut.
  • Chicken and Swiss Chard Pasta Bake – I think I counted three separate cooking parts to this one, even if two can be done simultaneously (boil the pasta, wilting the chard, and baking everything together). And that’s if you already have some cooked chicken hanging around for shredding. Nope.
  • Chicken in Milk – Adam’s face: ‘huh, intriguing’. Me: 90 minutes? I’m gonna forget it in the oven aren’t I? Adam: That’s what timers are for!
    Yes, we’ll be trying this one.
  • Italian Wedding Soup – I am content to a) not make meatballs, b) leave the soups to Adam, and c) leave ordering Italian wedding soup for restaurants.
  • Kale, Chickpeas, and Sausage with Oven-Baked Egg – Mouth watering from reading the recipe? Check. Will be trying? Check.
  • Mixed Bean Masala – India inspired spicings for beans and rice? Yes, I’d like to try that please.
  • Chinese No Clay-Pot Chicken with Soy & Ginger – 1) 15 minutes is not enough marination time for chicken and 2) with this much time on the stove before things go in the oven, I’d rather just do stir-fry.
  • Curried Vegetable & Chickpea Stew – Vegetarian, yep. Slow cooker – eh, calls for 4 hours, that doesn’t work out so well for me… although, we do have this slow cooker with a timer and there’s a stove-top version. Okay, looks fairly cheap, plentiful, and tasty – I’ll try it.
  • Lentil, Mushroom & Sweet Potato Shepherd Pie – 1) paprika, 2) red wine, 3) mushrooms (really need to get over that one… promised Adam I’d try portobello mushrooms this week), and 4) roasting potatoes before I get to eat. I’m hungry enough when I get home as it is. Nope. Shame, I want to try adding more lentils to our diet.
  • How to Roast a Leg of Lamb – 1) Adam has this covered and 2) saw a graphic showing the environmental impact (CO2 release I think) of bringing various proteins from the farm to your plate. Lamb was absolutely the worst for the environment of the ones shown. And I really wish I’d saved that link so I could be citing my sources….
  • Pork Stir-Fry with Asparagus and Sugar Snap Peas – Very, very similar to other stir-fry recipes I’ve already got. Other than the pork bit. But still, no too similar.
  • Tomato, Broccoli & Mozzarella Pasta Casserole – Apparently when it comes to casseroles, I have somewhere in my mind that they’re supposed to function like slow cookers, as in ‘what’s with having to cook stuff before it goes in the oven?’ This looks worth trying to work through that. Also, you know, vegetarian. And full of tasty, tasty dairy.
  • Cheesy All-Vegetable Lasagna – Looks tasty and worth trying as a big batch make ahead on the weekends. We’ll see how it goes.

Well, I think that went better in the being picky department than my previous attempts.

Dinners Vegetables Lunches Breakfasts Snacks Desserts Bread Pizza Other
Crockpot Paella Curry Roasted Broccoli Whole Wheat Peanut Butter & Jelly Pockets Spiced Honey Peach Muffins Homemade Jerky Chocolate Buttercream Apple Butter Challah Fig, Brie, and Caramelized Onion Pizza How to Basic Tomato Sauce with Fresh Tomatoes
Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Chili Grown up Tater-Tots Whole Wheat Pita with Kale & Asiago Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal Apple Cider Granola Wild Blackberry Sorbet No-Knead Bread Homemade thin crust pizza How to Basic Fruit Jam
Anelletti Pasta with Sausage and Greens Asparagus with Eggs & Parmesan Farmer’s Lunch Sandwich Spiced Apple Ring Pancakes Sugared Pecans Pumpkin Ice Cream with Gingersnap Bowls Pizza with Crispy Kale, Butternut Squash, Bacon & Smoked Mozzarella Vanilla Sugar
Homemade gnocchi Asparagus Ribbons Roasted Sweet Potato, Goat Cheese & Arugula Sandwich Baked Pumpkin Steel Cut Oatmeal Granola Bars Slow-Cooker Carrot Cake Pizza with Roasted Red Peppers, Sausage & Jack Cheese Flavored Salts
Farro and Sausage-Stuffed Baked Apples Asparagus & Radishes with Mint Tortellini Salad w/Figs, Walnuts, Prosciutto & Greens Sweet Potato Hash with Sausage & Eggs Strawberry-Rhubarb Streusel Bars Caramel-Pecan Sticky Buns How to Make Tahini
Chicken Tagine with Apricots, Almonds and Chickpeas Marinated Eggplant Spiced Lentil, Sweet Potato & Kale Whole Wheat Pockets Spiced Pear Muffins Medjool Date & Apple Charoset Spicy Sticky Cinnamon Rolls with Cream Cheese Icing Best Way to Make Lemonade
Pasta with cauliflower, sausage & breadcrumbs Zucchini & Carrot Fritters Holiday Breakfast Wreath Apple Pie Bake in the Apple DIY Instant Hot Chocolate
Shepherd’s Pie Baked Chai-Spiced French Toast Fudgy Hazelnut Rye Brownies Sriracha-style hot sauce
Chicken and Swiss Chard Pasta Bake Blueberry Breakfast Bars Blackberry-Rhubarb Crumble Fluffy Vanilla Marshmallows
Chicken in Milk Savory Parmesan French Toast Chocolate-covered Strawberries Souper Mix
Italian Wedding Soup Lemon Sorbet Paneer Cheese in 30 Minutes
Kale, Chickpeas, and Sausage with Oven-Baked Egg Fruit Crumble with Oats and Dates
Mixed Bean Masala Mini-Apple Cider Donuts
Chinese No Clay-Pot Chicken with Soy & Ginger How to Freeze Cinnamon Rolls & Bake Later 
Curried Vegetable & Chickpea Stew
Lentil, Mushroom & Sweet Potato Shepherd Pie
How to Roast a Leg of Lamb
Pork Stir-Fry with Asparagus and Sugar Snap Peas
Tomato, Broccoli & Mozzarella Pasta Casserole
Cheesy All-Vegetable Lasagna
Leave a Reply

