Finally, actual recipe elimination

I am never, EVER letting my ‘recipes to try’ folder grow to 80 bookmarks again. 80. Do you know what opening all of those at once does to your browser? No! Because you are all smart people who don’t do that.

So, with 80 possible recipes and being me, I decided to sort them into categories.

Dinners Vegetables Lunches Breakfasts Snacks Desserts Bread Pizza Other
Crockpot Paella Curry Roasted Broccoli Whole Wheat Peanut Butter & Jelly Pockets Spiced Honey Peach Muffins Homemade Jerky Chocolate Buttercream Apple Butter Challah Fig, Brie, and Caramelized Onion Pizza How to Basic Tomato Sauce with Fresh Tomatoes
Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Chili Grown up Tater-Tots Whole Wheat Pita with Kale & Asiago Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal Apple Cider Granola Wild Blackberry Sorbet No-Knead Bread Homemade thin crust pizza How to Basic Fruit Jam
Anelletti Pasta with Sausage and Greens Asparagus with Eggs & Parmesan Farmer’s Lunch Sandwich Spiced Apple Ring Pancakes Sugared Pecans Pumpkin Ice Cream with Gingersnap Bowls Pizza with Crispy Kale, Butternut Squash, Bacon & Smoked Mozzarella Vanilla Sugar
Homemade gnocchi Asparagus Ribbons Roasted Sweet Potato, Goat Cheese & Arugula Sandwich Baked Pumpkin Steel Cut Oatmeal Granola Bars Slow-Cooker Carrot Cake Pizza with Roasted Red Peppers, Sausage & Jack Cheese Flavored Salts
Farro and Sausage-Stuffed Baked Apples Asparagus & Radishes with Mint Tortellini Salad w/Figs, Walnuts, Prosciutto & Greens Sweet Potato Hash with Sausage & Eggs Strawberry-Rhubarb Streusel Bars Caramel-Pecan Sticky Buns How to Freeze Cinnamon Rolls & Bake Later
Chicken Tagine with Apricots, Almonds and Chickpeas Marinated Eggplant Spiced Lentil, Sweet Potato & Kale Whole Wheat Pockets Spiced Pear Muffins Medjool Date & Apple Charoset Spicy Sticky Cinnamon Rolls with Cream Cheese Icing Best Way to Make Lemonade
Pasta with cauliflower, sausage & breadcrumbs Zucchini & Carrot Fritters Holiday Breakfast Wreath Apple Pie Bake in the Apple DIY Instant Hot Chocolate
Shepherd’s Pie Baked Chai-Spiced French Toast Fudgy Hazelnut Rye Brownies Sriracha-style hot sauce
Chicken and Swiss Chard Pasta Bake Blueberry Breakfast Bars Blackberry-Rhubarb Crumble Fluffy Vanilla Marshmallows
Chicken in Milk Savory Parmesan French Toast Chocolate-covered Strawberries Souper Mix
Italian Wedding Soup Lemon Sorbet Paneer Cheese in 30 Minutes
Kale, Chickpeas, and Sausage with Oven-Baked Egg Fruit Crumble with Oats and Dates How to Make Tahini
Mixed Bean Masala Mini-Apple Cider Donuts
Chinese No Clay-Pot Chicken with Soy & Ginger
Curried Vegetable & Chickpea Stew
Lentil, Mushroom & Sweet Potato Shepherd Pie
How to Roast a Leg of Lamb
Pork Stir-Fry with Asparagus and Sugar Snap Peas
Tomato, Broccoli & Mozzarella Pasta Casserole
Cheesy All-Vegetable Lasagna

As you can see, this is no where near an even breakdown, but mentally I’m going to be tackling it group by group. But first, recipes that make me go ‘what was I thinking?’ and remove them from contention, based solely on the title:

Chicken Tagine with Apricots, Almonds and Chickpeas – I have something if not exactly like this, extremely close to it in my rotation already
Pasta with cauliflower, sausage & breadcrumbs – I think I tried it already, but at any rate, neither Adam or I like cauliflower
Chocolate Buttercream – Sorry, no frosting that means I cannot eat the cake (which leads to the question whether I’ll be keeping the Chocolate-covered Strawberries – the answer is yes, so I can try and make them for Adam’s birthday, seeing as they’re his favorite dessert and all.)
Vanilla Sugar – Seeing as I won’t be able smell the results, it seems like a lot of work for something I cannot reap the benefits of and doesn’t seem like it’d make a good DIY holiday gift. That last bit may be silly talk, but it’s what’s rattling in my brain right now. And I just hand coded an HTML table. I can arbitrarily eliminate recipes if I wanna 😀
Fluffy Vanilla Marshmallows – … We don’t eat marshmallows, why would I make them?

So that’s 5 out of 80 eliminated. Otherwise known as 6.25%. Oy.

A couple groups tonight, from actually looking at the recipe:
Bread:

  • Apple Butter Challah – Nope – I’ve got 2 challah recipes I’m happy with and the addition of apple butter is just not different enough from my apple challah recipe to be worth the hand pain writing things out
  • No-Knead Bread – Yup, this is a technique I haven’t tried yet

Pizza (aka, we have a pizza stone, we should use it more)

Snacks

  • Homemade Jerky – this looks tasty if a bit time consuming (maybe I should look into that dehydrator…), but I’d be able to make a big batch and then have protein snacks at work
  • Apple Cider Granola – Yup
  • Sugared Pecans – Well, since I seem to have completely mislaid my spiced [nut of choice] recipe, sure, I’ll try it
  • Granola Bars – Nope. Has brown rice syrup. Not buying another random ingredient only used in one recipe to sit in the pantry for months.
  • Strawberry-Rhubarb Streusel Bars – Also Nope. Has cream cheese. We don’t buy that very often and if I’m making bars, I want to throw them in my bag and have a snack that can just sit out of the refrigerator for days. Which is a shame, I like strawberries and rhubarb.
  • Medjool Date & Apple Charoset – Dates, Apples, Pecans, Walnuts! Hurray!! Manischewitz, BOOO! Oh well, I try this any way.

So, three more down. More group by group eliminations next Tuesday. The end result should be a list of recipes I can post on a page around here and then cross out as I actually copy them out. Whee!

3 thoughts on “Finally, actual recipe elimination

  1. We have a dyhydrator that we never use (it’s actually on loan from some friends who are in Alaska till November), you are welcome to borrow it for a couple weeks if you decide you want to make some jerky batches!

  2. Not to add more to the untried recipe list, but one pizza recipe I would suggest is flatbread pizza with apple slices and caramelized onions drizzled with balsamic reduction as toppings. We first ordered it off the menu at Blue Mountain Brewery near Charlottesville a few years back and loved it so much that we started making it at home, with definite positive results! The fig, brie and caramelized onion pizza recipe you cite made me think of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

