2nd time around for everything

So we got broken into. Again.

The thieves took my laptop. Again.

And my camera. Again.

I am a mite… annoyed by this, as you may guess. But the upshot is that there’s no pictures this time.

So these dumplings were the second dumpling recipe I’ve had sitting in my binder for a while. It is getting to be that time, when I dig in and just make the time to try these recipes. I admit though, I did look at the instructions on making the dough for these dumplings, go ‘Nope!’, and bought wonton wrappers. I do think that might have been part of the problem – I have yet to pan-fry OR steam dumplings such that they don’t stick to the pan. Maybe I needed to mash those sweet potatoes more, get out all the lumps. Not that I think that affected the cooking, just that they might have tasted better. Having to roast and mash potatoes before even starting the recipe is not one of those things that are going to endear a recipe to me either. Maybe y’all make mash potatoes or sweet potatoes on a semi-regular basis and just setting 1/2 cup aside to use later wouldn’t be a problem for you, but mashed potato types aren’t on regular rotation around here. Rice makes a more regular appearance around these parts.

At this point, I’m counting two things against this particular recipe, and I haven’t even gotten to the kicker – they just weren’t that interesting to eat. Not for me or Adam.

Yet another recipe I won’t be keeping. Maybe I should just acknowledge that the remaining three recipes should be skipped and move on with my life…. But I’ve already got the pears to poach this week, Adam really wants to try (taste) the bread pudding in the binder, and I really want to try making mozzarella. … That last one may end up in the next round of recipes regardless – I just don’t see having the time in the next couple of months to track down rennet and try this out. Darn it.

Any way! on with the recipe

Pan-Fried Steamed Sweet Potato and Pork Dumplings

More than I remembered to count
Original from Mission Food
Recipe Count – 3 left
Section Count – Black Binder:  1 more left, Subsection – Appetizers: 0! No More! (happy Laura)

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 3 tbsp sake
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp Chinese five spice powder
  • 1 package of wonton wrappers
  1. Preheat an oven to 350°F and wrap the sweet potatoes in aluminum foil. Place in the oven and roast until cooked through and soft-ish when squeezed (using a hot pad! Oh gods, don’t test squeeze aluminum wrapped potatoes with your bare hands), about 1 hour.
  2. Mean while, brown the ground pork and set aside
  3. Peel the potatoes, chop the flesh into chunks, and mash within a bowl until most of the lumps are gone. A potato masher makes this much easier, although fork(s) will work. Add the browned pork, sake, soy sauce, and five spice powder to the potatoes; mix well.
  4. Place between 1 and 2 tsp of filling into the center of each wrapper. Seal the wrapper closed, either with a press to smoosh the edges together or with a little bit of water run between the edges.
  5. Steam the dumplings in a wok or steamer basket until cooked – about 10 minutes. Remove, allow to cool, and eat.
Leave a Reply

