Actually simple snack

Things I learned while making avocado sushi for the first time:

1) Avocados are easy to peel for about the first 3/4ths of the fruit. Then you’re holding the interior flesh trying to grip without crushing while using a peel on the remaining 1/4th of the fruit. Let’s just say I found that to be an … interesting experience. And no, I did not drop the avocado which was successfully peeled 🙂
2) After cutting kind of half moon shapes of avocado, laying that slice on its side and cutting match-stick like slivers makes rolling sushi much, much easier.
3) Rolling sushi is tricky and I should remember that I own a sushi rolling mat. Given that I got it 8 years ago as part of a kit and haven’t used it since (I think), I’m forgiving my self for forgetting that. Even if it would have made my life easier. Oh well, the nori mostly held onto itself.
4) I like nori (seeweed sheet) and avocado – both individually and together.
5) Excess avocado smushed into not-quite-enough-rice-to-cover-another-sheet if tasty and quite filling.
6) Slicing rolls into individual pieces is hard, even with a good chef’s knife and cleaning the blade in cold water every so often. I’m betting there’s a trick to this I don’t know.
7) Inside out sushi (with the rice on the outside of the roll) is also very difficult but provides an excellent excuse to slice up the roll and eat immediately. Obviously I must destroy the evidence of unsuccessfully rolled sushi 😀

Finished Sushi

So I think the most challenging part of this recipe (and possibly any sushi recipe I attempt) is the rice. I know I find rice a bit difficult. If you have a pot with glass lid of the appropriate size for making rice – USE IT. So helpful to be able to see the water level in the rice without taking the lid off. Definitely rendered a few pots too dry from taking the lid off or burnt from not taking it off to check soon enough. Although you with working noses would probably be able to smell the burning starting.

Simple Avocado Sushi

~32 pieces
Original from Wassims Cuisine which I seem to no longer be able access….
Recipe Count – 8 left
Section Count – Black Binder:  5 more left, Subsection – Appetizers: 1 more (Pan-fried sweet potato and pork dumplings)

  • 2/3 cup / 140 g white rice
  • 3 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 ripe medium-large Avocado
  1. Wash and rinse the rice with cold water 4-5 times (this is important to getting the rice sticky). Cover with large amounts of water and boil until done, 10 – 15 minutes; this will be less time than called for on the rice packaging. Strain in a fine mesh strainer, transfer to a bowl and add the vinegar, sugar and salt. Mix gently with a fork without mashing until it begins to clump. Leave to cool.
  2. Peel the avocado and slice into long, thin pieces.
  3. Cur nori in half and set on a work surface with the smooth-shiny side down. Spread a layer of rice over 3/4th of the sheet. Lay strips of avocado up to the edges. Roll and slice into 8 pieces. Repeat with remaining 1 1/2 sheets of nori
  4. Enjoy!IngredientsSlicing
5 thoughts on “Actually simple snack

  1. I’m curious why you took the outside *off* the avocado, rather than taking the inside *out*? I’ve never even thought to peel an avocado. How did you deal with the pit?

    • Honestly, I peeled the avocado because the recipe said to 🙂 and since this was my first time dealing with avocados, I didn’t really know a better way. I think for getting slices, peeling would work better than scooping, but I’d be interested in how scooping would come out.
      For the pit, after peeling, I used a chef’s knife to put slits in the avocado at the quarters. Then sort of pushed a couple quarters off of the pit with the knife. Finally popped the pit out with my fingers and tossed it. It was really solid – which I found kinda neat and easier to deal with than expected.

Leave a Reply

