A failure of attempt

I may have mentioned in my post on Ginger Syrup that I bought strawberries instead of blueberries – that was just the first whoops of this little adventure. It’s pretty much berry season around here though, so I should just keep trying right now instead of letting this project lie for months. 🙂

So, what else did I manage to get wrong this attempt? Well, not enough berries and too much/too thin syrup. More… fruit tart than pie. Tasty. But not what I was going for.

Winter Berry Pie #4

I don’t think the ginger syrup is the right track – I like what letting the berries sit in it did, but it definitely doesn’t match my memories of Dangerously Delicious’s pies. The syrup was much thicker and I think a bit sweeter. I’m not sure if boiling my ginger syrup down would help. But I think I’ll try a simple sugar syrup. Maybe boil some blackberries in the syrup to get a purple-ish color.

Oh, and definitely buy and use two pears. This time involved red pears, which I rather liked, so they’ll make a reappearance.

Any rate, here’s a record of what I did do this time:

Winter Berry Pie the Fourth

  • 6oz blackberries
  • 6oz strawberries
  • 1 medium red pear
  • 1 recipe of Ginger Syrup
  1. Cut strawberries into slices and the pear into chunks; mix strawberries, blackberries, and pear chunks in a bowl. Cover with the syrup and let sit while you make your pastry dough (if using a pre-made dough, I think 30 minutes will do it.
  2. Make your pastry dough and set-up the crust in a pie pan; partially bake – about 20 minutes – at 350°F. Transfer berry mixture to pie plate.
  3. Bake in 375°F oven for 40-45 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack and allow to cool for about 15 minutes.
Leave a Reply

