Bet you can’t eat just one – I certainly can’t (Spiced Almonds)

Ba-ba-da-dum! An actual recipe I haven’t tried before! It’s been a bit, hasn’t it?

Recipe Count – 35 left
Section Count – Desserts: 9 left, miscellaneous – 2 left

Dessert recipes tend to sit around longer for me – personally, I need an excuse to break out the dessert recipes. Well, I don’t need an excuse but I try to limit myself to having an excuse, otherwise there would be way too many cookies around the house. Which might explain why these almonds have been sitting since December 1 of 2012. So what did it this time?

My third time hosting a Feastly. I decided to try and up my game a bit this time – host 4 people instead of 2. I thought that maybe, this time, there’d be fewer leftovers (NOPE!). Personally, I’m fairly happy eating slow-cooked barbecued shredded beef all week, but somehow it seems that I should not have that much after a dinner party of SEVEN people. See originally it was supposed to be six, but then Adam’s new contract decided they own ALL of his nights – so I called in a couple of ringers, two friends from college still in the area. Me, I’m a good co-host but really, if this was a sitcom, I’d be the straight man. Person. Whatever. So, they did their things, helped me keep the conversation going and did an amazing job. All in all, a delightful evening with lovely guests. And ALL the leftovers.

Anyway.

The menu:
Barbecued Beef Sandwiches (tomato and molasses based) on freshly baked Cloverleaf Rolls
Curry-Spiced Sweet Potatoes
Moroccan Raw Carrot Salad (I swear the cook loves them almost as much as the Potatoes and Kale)
Three-Pea Toss
Very Vanilla Cinnamon Ice Cream

Spiced Almonds

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These were quite easy to make, so much so that I made a second batch – I’d over bought almonds and wanted to try out a chai spice mix in addition to the cinnamon-nutmeg mix the original recipe called for:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole raw almonds
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp water
  1. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and preheat the oven to 300°F.
  2. Mix the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a bowl. Whisk in the egg white and water. Immediately stir in the almonds, coating the nuts thoroughly. The spice mix starts to set a little bit if it sits – it’ll still work if it does, it’s just easier to get an even coating if it doesn’t. Spread the almonds evenly on the cookie sheet.
  3. Bake for about 30 minutes, stirring every 5-10 minutes to prevent sticking; they  are ready when golden brown.

Chai Spice Mix Variation:

  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom

These work great as a sweet-savory snack (on their own) and as a delicious ice-cream topping.

Leave a Reply

