In which an early cooking career recipe reappears

About a year ago, while hanging out with friends, we got on the topic of comfort food and what that is for each of us. After saying I wasn’t sure I had one, everyone looked at me and said, near in unison “new recipes”.

Oh. DUH.

I could give you a whole spiel about how that came from the combination of teaching myself plus the weirdness of being anosmic (not able to smell). Or how I have a whole system to pull recipes I haven’t cooked recently to my attention. But that’s not actually my point – My point being that a) I’m making a conscious effort to revisit old recipes, see if I still like the results and b) clean out the binders a bit. Holy [expletive], I do not need to turn into the recipe hoarding crazy lady.

So, this recipe, the Shredded Slow-cooked Savory Brisket Sandwiches deployed at our last Feastly is from so early in my career it’s from Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes. Theoretically. I mean that’s what I (at some point) wrote down. But I don’t own that book. I don’t think I’ve ever owned that book. So, if it is from there, I had to have snagged a copy from my senior year of college roommate’s book. And if it is from a book I once owned, it would be from Fix-It and Forget-It Big Cookbook, which I no longer owned because every single recipe that looked interesting to me needed work – the cooking times just weren’t compatible with the slow cooker I owned at the time and everything ended up dried out. Considering that all went down in year… 3? 4? of learning to cook, I wasn’t comfortable messing with recipes yet. And besides, I’d limited the ones I was trying to things that I could turn on before work and turn off after work. And they needed less time? Yeah, I ditched the book, rather than upgrade my slow cooker to one with a) a timer and b) the ability for the machine to switch itself over to warming.

Speaking of which, I still need want to upgrade the slow cooker. 6 years later.

This is a good one though. The sauce comes out a little barbecue-esque without a) claiming to be BBQ and thus igniting a holy war as to the-one-true-way-to-do-BBQ amongst y’all’s extended family and b) being too thick or thin. It’s an applesauce based sauce, so make sure which ever applesauce you use is one you’d be willing to eat straight – it does make a difference. Personally, I like using our homemade applesauce which… darn it, I haven’t written that up yet – totally owe you guys my applesauce recipe. Depending on how fast you are at peeling apples, you can whip up a batch in 45 minutes (including cooking time), as chunky or smooth as you like.  The original recipe calls for slicing the meat and serving on buns – I figure, when it’s this tender and falling apart on the fork already, why not just shred it?

Without further ado:

Shredded Slow-cooked Savory Brisket Sandwiches

10-12 servings
3.5 – 5 quart slowcooker

  • 1 beef brisket, 2.5 – 3 lb / 1.1 – 1.4 kg
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes with green chile peppers, 10-16oz
  • 8 oz / 225 g applesauce
  • 1/3 cup tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Sandwich bun/rolls
  1. Trim the fat from the meat and, if necessary, cut to fit into the slow cooker. In a bowl, stir together the remaining ingredients (except the rolls) and pour over the meat in the slow cooker.
  2. Cover and cook on Low for 8-10 hours, or until meat is tender. If you’ve got a meat thermometer, use it. [So looking forward to getting our Ranges] Once tender, remove the meat and reserve the juices; cover the meat to keep it warm while you finish off the sauce.
  3. Pour the cooking juices into a large saucepan. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer gently, uncovered, for 15-20 minutes, or until reduced to your desired consistency. Stir frequently.
  4. Shred the beef and add the sauce. Let shredded beef sit in the sauce until it is time to serve. Serve by piling desired amount of beef on a sandwich bun.

Sorry guys, no pictures this time.

One thought on “In which an early cooking career recipe reappears

  1. Pingback: In which I learn that ‘no, really, even applesauce isn’t infinitely expandable’ | The Kitchen Chemist & the Cook

Leave a Reply

